Processing Request
A
Academic Search Complete
Full-Text: science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields.
Agricola
Search for citations and abstracts on agricultural topics as well as a variety of related fields, including veterinary, plant, and environmental sciences. Note: Free access to this database is provided by the National Agricultural Library.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections
Partnering with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, EBSCO provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
American Memory (Library of Congress Digital Collections)
Includes digitized American historical materials. The original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Note: Free access to this database is provided by the Library of Congress.
American Presidency Project
Search over 100,000 documents about the presidency and individual presidents. The document library covers executive orders, proclamations, press conferences, weekly radio addresses, fire-side chats, State of the Union addresses, election data, and more.
American Veterinary Medical Association
American Veterinary Medical AssociationThis is the website for the archives of the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA). Here you can access full-text articles from from 2000 through the present. Published twice monthly, this peer-reviewed, general scientific journal provides reports of clinical research, feature articles, and regular columns of interest to veterinarians in private and public practice.
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in the scientific literature. Topics include Psychology, Biology, Biochemistry and Sociology.
B
Book of the States
This website provides downloadable comparative statistics to help you study US states and territories. You can find information about laws, election practices, education spending, etc.
Business Source Complete
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. It also provides industry reports, market research reports, and company histories.
C
CAB Abstracts (formerly VetMed)
CAB Abstracts includes everything from VetMed Resource plus a LOT more: subjects include agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health, and nutrition. Over 449,000 full-text journal articles, reports, and conference proceedings.
Census Bureau Data
United States Census Bureau Facts and statistics. The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Chaucer Bibliography
Includes materials from the Annotated Chaucer Bibliography published annually in Studies in the Age of Chaucer. Note: Free access to this database is provided by The University of Texas at San Antonio Library and The New Chaucer Society.
CINAHL
CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, providing full text for more than 1200 journals indexed in CINAHL. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
CiteSeerX
Scientific Literature Digital Library and Search Engine. Focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. Includes full-text for many articles.
Climate.gov
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s website provides information for the understanding of climate-related events. Information includes news, maps & data, teaching resources, etc.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Provides full-text Congressional Research Service reports prepared for the U.S. Congress. Note: Free access to this database is provided by Demand Progress in collaboration with the Congressional Data Coalition.
D
Data USA
Data USA provides United States public data by creating visualizations. Data sources include the US Census, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Bureau of Labor Statistics, University of Wisconsin County Health Rankings, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System, and the O*Net Skills data set.
Digital Public Library
The Digital Public Library is a large-scale project designed to organize and link large public collections of freely available library and archival collections throughout the United States.
Directory of Open Access Journals
The DOAJ is a large database of freely available scientific and scholarly journals from all over the world. All journals included in this database are required to have a strict peer-review or editorial board process.
Docuseek
Access to Uprooted: The Journey of Jazz Dance. 9/20/2023-9/20/2026
E
EBSCO eBook Collection
Search for and read an eBook from a core academic collection of over 100,000 titles that covers a range of disciplines, including (but not limited to) literature, science, computer science, international studies, history, and education.
Edgar Databases
Provides full-text reports [10-K, 10-Q, and more] from U.S. public companies 1993-present as reported to the Securities and Exchange Commission. Note: Free access to this database is provided by the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
Educational Administration Abstracts
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 190,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass
Nearly seven hundred entries document the range of the African American experience from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass and show how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals
The John Stewart Memorial Library would like to thank the Clark Sciences Collection Endowment for contributing to this subscription.
ERIC
Database of education citations, abstracts and full-text documents for journal and non-journal education literature.
F
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Provides citations to women's studies articles, books, and essays (focus is on the Middle Ages - subject matter covers material from 400-1500). Note: Free access to this database is provided by Haverford College.
G
Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. It offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity. Includes all of the content from the former Women's Studies International database plus more.
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal™ is a free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Govinfo
Provides free electronic access to important information products produced by all three branches of the Federal Government. Note: Free access to this database is provided by the U. S. Government Printing Office. Includes free full-text access to the Public Papers of the Presidents.
GreenFILE
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles. This multidisciplinary database draw on connections between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Contains abstracts as well as full-text for select articles.
H
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is the premier database for historical and government documents. Here you can access resources about the law, civil rights and social justice, foreign relations, the U.S. Legal Code and Congressional documents, U.S. Presidential libraries, U.S. Supreme Court library, the history/culture/law of slavery around the world, the JFK assassination collection, the Pentagon Papers, research about gun regulation and legislation in America, and more.
History Reference Center
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
I
IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides free access to periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Here you will find information on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more. See the IMF eLibrary Startup Guide to learn more about this resource.
International Encyclopedia of Dance
Nearly 2,000 articles cover the full spectrum of dance-theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Internet Archive Open Libraries
Thanks to a partnership with the Internet Archive, you can access digitized copies of many of the works housed in the JSM Library's physical on-campus collection. In order to use this resource, you will need to create a separate Internet Archive account (this is not your Wilson account). Once you have an account, you can select an item from our collection and borrow it for one hour at a time, which will give you access to view and read an electronic version of the item. You can continue to renew the item so long as no one else is using it. If you have questions about how this program works or the availability of certain material, please Ask a Librarian.
J
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Contains full-text articles from core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
The John Stewart Memorial Library would like to thank the Margaret E. Ward '65 Endowment for contributing to this subscription.
https://wilson.video.yuja.com/V/Video?v=11144823&node=49647054&a=132184553
L
Literary Reference Center
Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and full-text essays from leading publishers. It also includes literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and book reviews from the most prestigious publications. It offers poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews and much more.
The John Stewart Memorial Library would like to thank the Katharine Montgomery Cook '21 Endowment for contributing to this subscription.
M
MasterFILE Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily.
MEDLINE
Provides citations to articles in areas of biomedicine including areas of allied health, biological sciences and physical sciences.
Merck Manual (Professional Version)
The Merck Manual is a medical reference published by the American pharmaceutical company Merck & Co. that covers a wide range of medical topics, including disorders, tests, diagnoses, and drugs. It is the oldest continuously published English language medical textbook and is now completely available online. Also includes a link to the Consumer Version, which is directed towards members of the general public and contains useful information, handouts, and videos to help explain medical concepts to patients and their caregivers.
Merck Veterinary Manual
Provides veterinarians and other animal health professionals with concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals.
MLA International Bibliography
A bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. Dates back to the 1920s.
The John Stewart Memorial Library would like to thank the Susan Smith Dimattia '64 Endowment for contributing to this subscription.
N
NewsBank
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
New York Public Library Digital Collection
Includes images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more. Note: Free access to this database is provided by the New York Public Library.
Nexis Uni
Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni provides full-text articles from a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference sources.
Nursing Reference Center +
Designed for nurses, providing current evidence-based information for clinical questions. contains ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes, management, drug information, disease and conditions information, patient education handouts, continuing education modules, videos and images
O
Ovid
20 Core Nursing journals- including-Advances in Neonatal Care, Advances in Nursing Science, AJN:The American Journal of Nursing, CIN:Computers, Informatics, Nursing, Dimensions of Ciritcal Care Nursing, Health Care Management Review, Home Healthcare Now, JONA: Journal of Nursing Administration ,Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing, Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing, Journal of Infusion NursingJournal of Nursing Care Quality, MCN: The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing, Nurse Educator, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, Nursing Management, Nursing2020 Critical Care from 2015 (Closed FrontFile), Nursing2021Orthopaedic Nursing, Professional Case Management
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Includes over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 articles covering women's studies topics in geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
P
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
Points of View Reference Center provides a balance of materials from all viewpoints with main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers related images and supplementary research guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
The John Stewart Memorial Library would like to thank the James W. and Charlotte J. Liddell '47 Library Endowment for contributing to this subscription.
PsycINFO
The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
The John Stewart Memorial Library would like to thank the Clark Social Sciences Collection Endowment for contributing to this subscription.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
R
RKMA Market Research Reports
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Here you can access the latest ebook versions of their titles, including resources on Consumer Behavior, Marketing, Healthcare Business, and Sports Marketing, among others.
S
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct contains over 2,500 journals in a wide range of Science disciplines. Access to articles is restricted to abstract only for most journals. Please contact a librarian for more information on obtaining full articles.
Science Reference Center
Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
The John Stewart Memorial Library would like to thank the Clark Sciences Collection Endowment for contributing to this subscription.
Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives
Search the online archive of the cultural history of the United States. The Smithsonian Institute provides over 7,000 searchable resources. If the resource is not online, the website gives instructions for how to access the resource.
SocINDEX
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health, and sports.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Provide entries by hundreds of experts from the international philosophy community. Note: Free access to this database is provided by Stanford University.
V
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
Includes original letters and diaries, newspapers and speeches, census and church records, by men and women in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Note: Free access to this database is provided by the University of Virginia.
Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
Provides full-text open access to peer-reviewed nursing research and evidence-based practice materials. Note: Free access to this database is provided by Sigma Theta Tau International, The Honor Society of Nursing.
W
Women Working 1800-1930
This collection includes documents related to women's roles in the U.S. economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. Working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene, conduct of life, policies and regulations governing the workplace, and social issues are all well documented by original source material. The collection contains books, photographic images, and material from several manuscript collections.